There is no single best funeral home answering service. There is the one that fits how your firm takes calls: who carries the phone at night, how many locations you run, and what language your families speak. This list covers six options and sorts them by the kind of firm each suits. It does not rank them or name a winner.
How was this list put together?
It was assembled from each vendor’s own published pages, read in September 2026. Nobody at FuneralHQ placed test calls to the live services or ran the AI products, so nothing here rates call quality. A vendor’s claim about itself is reported as the vendor’s. Where a page was silent, the entry says so.
FuneralHQ publishes this article and sells one of the six options. That entry follows the same five-point structure as the others and carries no price. The order is by type, not by merit.
Funeral home answering services at a glance
A live service puts a person on the call. An AI receptionist is software that answers, asks questions and passes on a message. A hybrid setup uses both, for example a live service at night and an assistant for the daytime calls nobody reaches.
| Option | Type | Published price | Billing and trial | Spanish |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ASD | Live, funeral homes only | None | Per call. Trial of at least 30 days | Listed |
| FuneralCall | Live, funeral industry | None | Per minute. No trial mentioned | Not mentioned |
| Directors’ Choice | Live, deathcare only | None | Agent time. 7-day trial | Listed |
| Director On Call | Live, funeral profession | $159.95 to $669.95 a month | Per minute. No trial mentioned | Not mentioned |
| General AI receptionists | Software, not funeral-specific | $24.95 to $349 a month | By call, minute or caller | Listed by Dialzara and Rosie |
| FuneralHQ | Software. Staff phones can ring first | Not stated here | Three packages | English, Spanish, or both |
The billing models are explained in what a funeral home answering service costs.
ASD (Answering Service for Directors)
- What it is. A live answering service founded in 1972, family owned, based in Media, Pennsylvania. It works solely with funeral homes.
- What it publishes about itself. ASD says it works with more than 9,000 funeral homes, answers 90% of calls on the first ring, and gives call specialists six months of training. It lists bilingual Spanish service, call recording with transcription, a suicide call patch system, and FuneralSync, which links it to funeral software.
- Billing and terms. No published rates. It bills per call, and a call longer than three minutes is billed as two. The free trial runs at least 30 days, with no contract or upfront payment.
- Best for. A firm that wants a long-established, funeral-only live service.
- Check before you sign. How long your first calls run, since a long call counts twice. ASD says question sets and dispatch rules are adjustable, so set them during the trial.
See also ASD alternatives.
FuneralCall
- What it is. A live answering service for the funeral industry, based in Carrollton, Georgia.
- What it publishes about itself. It says it has more than 30 years in business, answers 95% of calls on the first ring, and records all inbound calls. Plans include texting, email, first call notifications and a mobile app.
- Billing and terms. Quote only. It charges per minute and bills on 12 monthly cycles, which it contrasts with the 28-day cycle of other services. It offers month-to-month, one-year and two-year terms.
- Best for. A firm that wants a live service billed by the calendar month, with a choice of contract length.
- Check before you sign. The pages we read did not mention a free trial or Spanish-speaking operators. Ask about both.
Directors’ Choice
- What it is. A 24-hour deathcare contact center, founded in 1997 by a funeral director. It serves funeral homes, cremation providers, cemeteries and pet services.
- What it publishes about itself. It lists HITRUST certification, deathcare-only agents, staff fluent in English and Spanish, web chat, live transfers, CRM integrations, and a mobile app called CogniSent.
- Billing and terms. No published pricing. Billing is based on the time agents spend on your calls. It offers a 7-day free trial with no credit card, and a month-to-month commitment with 30 days notice.
- Best for. A firm that wants phone and web chat handled together, or one that also runs a cemetery or pet service.
- Check before you sign. Seven days is short. Forward enough real calls to judge it, and ask what CRM integration means for your software.
Compare the three in ASD vs FuneralCall vs Directors’ Choice.
Director On Call
- What it is. A live answering service for the funeral profession. It says it started in 1948, answering calls for local funeral homes.
- What it publishes about itself. It offers message taking, call recording, first call intake, virtual reception and overflow call handling.
- Billing and terms. The only live service here to publish a rate card. In US dollars it lists 50 minutes for $159.95 a month, 200 for $349.95, and 500 for $669.95, with overage from $1.30 to $1.65 a minute. It also says its average client pays $6,000 per year. The pages we read did not state contract terms or a trial.
- Best for. A firm that wants daytime reception and overflow cover as well as night calls.
- Check before you sign. Which plan your call minutes fit, since overage adds up. Ask how Spanish-speaking callers are handled.
General-purpose AI receptionists: Upfirst, Dialzara, Rosie, Goodcall
- What they are. Software that answers the phone for small businesses in general, not for funeral homes in particular.
- What they publish about themselves. Their prices. Dialzara and Rosie list English and Spanish, and Upfirst lists more than 35 languages.
- Billing and terms. Upfirst bills by the call, Dialzara and Rosie by the minute, Goodcall by the unique caller. Upfirst lists a 14-day free trial and no contract. Dialzara and Rosie each list 7 days.
- Best for. A firm with low call volume and someone willing to write the death call instructions.
- Check before you sign. Where the first call goes afterward. If it is a transcript in a dashboard, someone still types it into the case.
| Vendor | Entry plan | Top plan | Over the limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Upfirst | $24.95 for 30 calls | $299 for 600 calls | $0.70 to $1.50 per call |
| Dialzara | $29 for 60 minutes | $349 for 1,000 minutes | $0.35 to $0.48 per minute |
| Rosie | $49 for 250 minutes | $299 for 2,000 minutes | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Goodcall | $79 for 100 callers | $249 for 500 callers | $0.50 per caller |
Read what an AI receptionist can and cannot do before you test one.
How FuneralHQ handles this
We publish this article. Weigh this entry accordingly.
- What it is. AI phone answering inside funeral home software. It stays off until you switch it on, per location and per phone number.
- What it publishes about itself. In the default mode, "Only when staff cannot answer", staff phones ring first. It answers in English, Spanish, or both, texts and calls up to five on-call people in turn, and leaves a draft first call sheet for a person to review and confirm. It never states a price or a cause of death, and never promises a pickup time.
- Billing and terms. No price is stated here. FuneralHQ comes in three packages: Platform, Growth, and Growth Managed. See pricing.
- Best for. A firm that wants the first call drafted in the system the case runs on.
- Check before you sign. It does not put a person on every call. Hear a test death call first.
Which option suits your kind of firm?
Start from how your firm takes calls, not from the vendor.
- Single-director firm. Look first at a live service for nights. ASD’s trial is the longest listed here. If the bill is the obstacle, an assistant that answers only when you cannot is a second route. See after-hours answering.
- High-volume cremation firm. The billing basis matters more as call volume rises. ASD, FuneralCall and Directors’ Choice bill in three different ways, so ask each to price the same three months of your calls. See phone price disclosure under the Funeral Rule for price calls.
- Multi-location group. Ask how each location is greeted, dispatched and invoiced. ASD’s FuneralSync and Directors’ Choice’s CRM integrations are the published links to software. See connecting an answering service to your software.
- Firm with many Spanish-speaking families. ASD and Directors’ Choice list Spanish-speaking staff. Dialzara, Rosie and FuneralHQ list English and Spanish. Test each with a Spanish speaker, at night. See serving Spanish-speaking families by phone.
What should you test in a trial?
Place the same calls with every option, then listen to the recordings. Use a real script, such as the first call script, and call at night too.
| Test | What to look for |
|---|---|
| A death call at 2 AM | One question at a time, names spelled back, the director reached |
| A caller who asks for a person | An offer to connect them |
| A price question | An accurate answer or a prompt return call, never a refusal |
| A Spanish-speaking caller | A conversation in Spanish, not a request to call back |
| The morning after | The first call in your case system, or a message to retype |
Questions to ask an answering service before you sign
- Who, or what, answers, and how are they prepared for a death call?
- Do you bill by the call, the minute, agent time, or the caller, and on what cycle?
- Does a long call count as more than one?
- How long is the free trial, and is there a term contract?
- How is my on-call director reached, and what if nobody acknowledges?
- Are Spanish calls answered in Spanish at every hour?
- Where does the first call go afterward?
Common questions about funeral home answering services
How much does a funeral home answering service cost?
Three of the four live services here publish no dollar prices. Director On Call publishes plans from $159.95 a month for 50 minutes to $669.95 for 500, and says its average client pays $6,000 per year. In 2014 ASD wrote that the average independent funeral home paid close to $165 a month, a figure now more than a decade old.
Do funeral answering services require a contract?
It depends on the vendor. ASD says its trial needs no contract or upfront payment. FuneralCall offers month-to-month, one-year and two-year terms. Directors’ Choice is month-to-month and asks for 30 days notice. Upfirst lists no contract. Get the term and the notice period in writing.
Is per-call or per-minute billing cheaper?
It depends on how long your calls run. ASD bills per call and counts a call longer than three minutes as two. FuneralCall charges per minute. Goodcall charges by the unique caller and lists unlimited minutes. Ask every vendor to price the same month of your own calls.
Can an AI receptionist take a death call?
It can collect the details. FuneralHQ’s assistant collects the caller’s name and callback number, the name of the person who died and its spelling, the location, and whether anyone has pronounced. ASD argues that AI would mishandle distraught callers. Listen to a test call before you decide.
Can we use a live answering service and an AI assistant together?
Yes. That is the hybrid setup: a live service on some calls, an assistant on others. The FuneralHQ team can also set up an intake address, so a first call that a live service emails arrives as a draft first call sheet beside the original message.
Do answering services connect to funeral home software?
Some do. ASD says FuneralSync pulls first call information and recordings into the management program. Its listed partners include Passare, SRS Computing, Halcyon and Osiris Software. FuneralHQ is not an ASD FuneralSync partner, and a direct feed from an answering service is in development.
Can an answering service give prices over the phone?
Ask each vendor what its operators say. The FTC’s guide to the Funeral Rule says a provider may use an answering service to take calls, and must then respond to each caller’s questions individually. FuneralHQ’s assistant never states a price. This article is general information, not legal advice.
Are calls recorded, and do callers have to be told?
ASD, FuneralCall and Director On Call list call recording. FuneralHQ’s assistant opens every call with a notice that it may be recorded. The Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press counts about 11 states that primarily require all-party consent. Check your own state, and see call recording and AI disclosure.
The FuneralHQ advantage
The call and the case belong in one record
FuneralHQ rings your staff first, answers when nobody can, pages whoever is on call, and leaves a first call sheet a person confirms, so the details a family gave once are the details the case starts from.
The walkthrough separates what ships today from what is in development, then tests FuneralHQ against one of your real workflows.
Challenge us with your workflowSources
- ASD: why ASD, the company’s published service claims
- ASD: about the company, history and size
- ASD: free trial terms
- ASD: setting the record straight on common myths about ASD (2025)
- ASD: 8 simple ways funeral directors can reduce answering service expenses (2014)
- ASD: 6 real funeral home call scenarios AI would get wrong (2026)
- ASD: FuneralSync integration program and partner list
- FuneralCall: pricing page
- FuneralCall: frequently asked questions, billing and contract terms
- FuneralCall: features page
- FuneralCall: about the company
- Directors’ Choice: company site, service overview
- Directors’ Choice: about us, company history
- Directors’ Choice: frequently asked questions, trial, terms and billing
- Directors’ Choice: technology page
- Director On Call: services page
- Director On Call: plans and pricing page
- Director On Call: about us, company history
- Director On Call: home page
- Upfirst: pricing page
- Dialzara: pricing page
- Rosie: pricing page
- Goodcall: pricing page
- FTC: Complying with the Funeral Rule
- Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press: introduction to the reporter’s recording guide
About the FuneralHQ Editorial Team
This guide was written by the FuneralHQ Editorial Team, the in-house team behind funeral home software used by independent firms to run cases, documents, payments, and QuickBooks sync in one record. Our editorial standards explain how we review product claims, outside sources, automation, updates, and corrections.
